Tennessee Divorce FAQ – How much will it cost?

03 May 2011 Categories: All Blogs, Family Law and Divorce

One of the questions we frequently get is, “how much will my divorce cost?” The answer depends on a number of factors. The first thing that you have to look at is the filing fee, which is the fee paid directly to the court for the filing of the divorce complaint. In Davidson County the current fees are $182.50 for a divorce with no minor children and $257.50 for a divorce with minor children. The counties surrounding Davidson have similar fees ranging from $150 to $300 to file the divorce

The main cost associated with a divorce is usually going to be the attorney’s fees. Attorney’s fees are usually charged either on a flat fee basis or an hourly basis. Tennessee law prohibits attorneys from taking a divorce case on a contingency basis, as is the standard practice in personal injury cases, where the attorney gets a percentage of the settlement.

At McNulty & Associates, we handle divorce cases on both a flat fee and hourly basis. We work with our clients to determine which fee structure fits best with their circumstances. Many of the questions we will ask to help determine this are: Are there minor children? Do the parties agree on a parenting plan for the minor children? Do the parties own a home and/or automobiles together? Do the parties have other property that needs to be divided? Do the parties agree on how the property is to be equitably divided?

If you would like more information about McNulty & Associates divorce services, click here or call us at 615-829-8250. You can always email us at info@mcnultyassociatestn.com as well.

Comments are closed.